sallyhanan’s blog

A writer’s blog

Spruce up your blog June 21, 2009


Bookmark and Share

‘Tis a far far better thing that I just did than I have ever done (with my blog). Bloggiesta is now over, and I am highly grateful to Maw Books for hosting it, and to her friends for the many challenges they put forth.

I typed my last words at 2 a.m. on a laptop while in bed. My husband’s hopes of activity were sorely dashed, but I had to let Ruth of the Bookish Ruth blog know that I had completed her challenge so that I could be in with a chance to win her prize. What that is, I have no idea. IE won’t let me read her page anymore. After telling my husband that information, he felt even more special.

Here is what I have done after forty-eight hours of challenges:
Written two back-up posts for rainy/busy days
Invited a guest blogger
Created a template post with my “add this” button and my editing services banner. (Isn’t the banner great? I can’t believe I managed to pull that one off without high-tech hubby’s help!)
Cleaned up tags and my sidebar
Made an inksnatcher favicon
Edited and updated my “about me” page and some older posts
Left a comment on the pages of those who put forth the challenges
Learned that I need to offer the RSS feed via e-mail, I should post serial posts, and I should have a photo in my “about me” section.
Brought all of my social network profiles up to date
Got a second gravatar
Read some tips from the Blogging Tips group on the Book Blogs Ning
Wrote a rainy day opinion post
Read and commented on ten new blogs
Set up Google alerts to give me info. on who talks about me and my services, and when
Gave an elevator pitch about my blog
Got listed on two new blog search engines
Begged for a blogging friend–one possibility in the works
Learned how to anchor text
Read five articles from 27 Must Read Tips & Tutorials for Bloggers
Had my blog graded—got 67/100
Added my URLs to Delicious

I’m whacked. I think I’ve put in about twenty-six hours. Nap time now.:)

 

 

Every piece of writing needs to be clear and precise. With microscope in hand, Inksnatcher’s writing and editing service will hone any work until it glitters in the light of a 1,000 watt bulb.

sallylogo3 INKSNATCHER.COM                                                                                                                                      

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Spruce up your blog”

  1. I’m late, I’m late, I’m late! Thanks so much for participating in the Bloggiesta! 26 hours is simply amazing! Great job!

  2. Abdurahman Says:

    Dont forget to offline gathering in your community.. meet with other bloggers as well 🙂

  3. sdechantal Says:

    Just cruising through the Bloggiesta participant blogs and meeting my fellow book bloggers. Great job on the challenge!

  4. Amber Says:

    I just stopped by to see what some of the other participants were able to do during Bloggiesta. Sounds like you made a lot of good progress.

  5. Carol Garvin Says:

    Wow, that’s quite a writing-blogging marathon! Me? I’ve been cleaning up after Rachelle’s blog party and the subsequent breakfast crowd at my place. I just stopped in here to say “hi”. I’ve enjoyed my peek at your spot in cyberspace and will be back again soon.

    Carol Garvin


Leave a Reply

