sallyhanan’s blog

A writer’s blog

Possible book cover June 13, 2009

Filed under: Business advice,Writing — sallyhanan @ 7:29 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Bookmark and Share

Just in—first idea for the cover of Joy in a Box.

Bookcover

So what do you think? Does this make you want to buy the book? Does it reflect the fact that it’s a mix of different genres?

 

 

Every piece of writing needs to be clear and precise. With microscope in hand, Inksnatcher’s writing and editing service will hone any work until it glitters in the light of a 1,000 watt bulb.

sallylogo3 INKSNATCHER.COM                                                                                                                                      

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Possible book cover”

  1. Janet Says:

    I like this one best of the three.

  2. Judith Says:

    I agree with the idea to simplify. It’s a little busy with the manuscript underburn on the red/yellow blend with the flame-like design. I’d drop the underburn and blur the design on the flames so that it’s a faded variation of the color, without the definitive lines.

    I like the basic theme. The plain brown packing box, however is a little jarring. I might use a box with a lid, like you might put souvenirs in. Or a plain wooden box with a hinged lid.

    Just some random thoughts.

  3. Nathan H. Says:

    it appears like it would be a memoir or collection of correspondence

  4. J.M. Reep Says:

    Ah! A fellow Smashwords author!

    I’m a stranger, so I guess that means I can offer an honest opinion? 🙂

    I really like how you have set up the title and your name running as a banner across the top. Only problem: should the “b” in “box” (and maybe the “i” in “in”) capitalized too?

    As for the image, I like the individual elements. The colors are attention-getting. The box of letters image is nice (watch out for the iStockPhoto watermark). And I see there’s a manuscript design in the background (foreground?) of the image.

    But I’m not sure if all those elements work well together. I think the manuscript design in the background/foreground is one element too much, especially since the yellow and red colors already have a design running through them. Maybe the cover would be improved if you only used the colors and the box image.

    • sallyhanan Says:

      True. This is from the designer—no editing has been done yet. Same goes for the iStock watermark. We’re just getting ideas for now.

      In should not be capitalized in a title as it is a preposition. I definitely want the change the single line of title and name, so I think I’ll put my name at the bottom of the page and have the title and sub-title on two lines. Someone else made a great point that the title needs to be as bold as possible so that it can be read on an avatar-sized photo. That means that the white font will have to change.


Leave a Reply

