sallyhanan’s blog

A writer’s blog

iContact contact list April 22, 2009


Bookmark and Share

I am on day 6 of my effort to get the hang of a messenger management service called iContact. I could call this iContact for Those Who, Like Me, Feel Like Dummies.

So far: I’ve downloaded the free trial for iContact; I’ve added my contact list from Hotmail; I’ve checked out the different designs for the e-mails or newsletters I can eventually send. Now I had to solve the dilemma of having almost 800 contacts on my list when I was only allowed to have 250 with my free trial.

I called customer service and only had to wait for 4 minutes. Basically, the contact limit is set in stone. There is no way to assign different folders for the other names and set them aside for later use. The rep. was very helpful and didn’t get irritated, even though I asked the same question in 3 different ways. 🙂

With that in mind, and also remembering that many of those on my list will not want to sign up for a newsletter (iContact will not allow me to send anyone anything unless they have agreed to my request), I exported all of the overflow of names into an HTML folder on my hard drive and then deleted them from iContact. If I upgrade, then it will be easy for me to import them back in.

 

3 Responses to “iContact contact list”

  1. veracityteam Says:

    I too setup a trial with icontact. I think you actually can add your DB to the list without them having to opt-in. There is a spot you have to check that says you are certifying that you already have permission. Basically, you have done business with them and you’re not just arbitrarily adding names to your mailing list. Check it out.

  2. […] sallyhanan’s blog placed an interesting blog post on iContact contact listHere’s a brief overviewI am on day 6 of my effort to get the hang of a messenger management service called iContact. I could call this iContact for Those Who, Like Me, Feel Like Dummies . So far: I’ve downloaded the free trial for iContact; I’ve added my contact list from Hotmail; I’ve checked out the different designs for the e-mails or newsletters I can eventually send. Now I had to solve the dilemma of having almost 800 contacts on my list when I was only allowed to have 250 with my free trial. I called cust […]

  3. […] sallyhanan’s blog added an interesting post on iContact contact listHere’s a small excerptI am on day 6 of my effort to get the hang of a messenger management service called iContact. I could call this iContact for Those Who, Like Me, Feel Like Dummies . So far: I’ve downloaded the free trial for iContact; I’ve added my contact list from Hotmail; I’ve checked out the different designs for the e-mails or newsletters I can eventually send. Now I had to solve the dilemma of having almost 800 contacts on my list when I was only allowed to have 250 with my free trial. I called cust […]


Leave a Reply

